6th District

Santa Maria

4th Class Municipality

Number of Barangay: 23

Named after the Virgin Mary, the town’s Patron Saint, Santa Maria was founded on January 10, 1855, until it was incorporated into the town of Tayug. The town was briefly established as a town in 1863 but was later absorbed by Tayug due to financial constraints.

In 1877, the people of Santa Maria applied for separation from Tayug and the establishment of a new independent town. The petition was granted establishing Santa Maria as a municipality headed by Captain Eugenio Vinluan. In 1903, Santa Maria was once again incorporated with Tayug but gained its independence once again four years later in 1907.

Santa Maria is part of the sixth congressional district bordering the towns of Asingan and Tayug to the north, Balungao to the south, San Quintin to the east, and Villasis to the west. The town has a total land area of 6,950 hectares and a population of 34,220 people according to the 2020 census.

Santa Maria is an agricultural town with rice as its main product. The town also produces corn, vegetables, and native fruits. Industries such as livestock and poultry farms also operate in the town.


Julius Ramos

Vice Mayor
Teodoro Ramos

Antonio Cantoria
Kash Mikhail Ginez
Sarah Navarro
Elvis Oria
Robert Ginez
Noela Manicdo
Moises Hortaleza
Gian Franco Ginez

Latest News & Updates

22 May 2024
Sangguniang Panglungsod of Baguio City Benchmarks Pangasinan
20 May 2024
PGEMPCOP holds induction and oath-taking of new set of officers
17 May 2024
PDLs undergo Organic Agriculture Production Training