5th District


4th Class Municipality

Number of Barangay: 18

Bautista was known as a melting pot of cultures during the Spanish occupation due to its diverse population and languages. Pangasinenses, Ilocanos, Tagalogs, Pampangos, Chinese, and Spanish all lived in harmony, and the town played a major role in trade between different provinces. In 1900, Bautista became a municipality with Don Ramon Reynado as its first chief executive. However, the town’s heyday ended when the alternate rail route of San Quintin to Paniqui was opened, effectively bypassing Bautista. The town also faced significant damage from massive flooding in 1934 and 1972. Despite these setbacks, Bautista gradually recovered and became a thriving agricultural town.

Bautista is located in the fifth congressional district, 43 kilometers from the capital town of Lingayen. It has a land area of 8213 hectares and a population of 35,398 according to the 2020 census.

Bautista is known as the “walis tambo” (broom grass) capital of Pangasinan due to its lucrative broom-making industry. Other notable products from Bautista include rice, corn, tobacco, onions, ampalaya, and buro.


Joseph Espino

Vice Mayor
Rosemarie Gacutan

Joren Aaron Espino
Alfredo Laguardia
Simplicio Petinez
Alex Tagulao
Julius Mejia
Jesus Villanueva JR.
Raem Aquino
Ramiro Sagum

Latest News & Updates

11 June 2024
PGP to impose penalty for littering
7 June 2024
187 employees of the Provincial Government receive new opportunities...
7 June 2024
Prov’l Government increases payment for PhilHealth insurance...