The Official Website of the Province of Pangasinan

DepEd Division 1 conducts 2019 SPED Olympics at NRSCC

More than 600 students with special needs have participated in the 2019 Division 1 SPED Olympics held on November 6 at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC).

Governor Amado I. Espino III personally attended the opening program and commended the teachers and the parents of the differently-abled children for their patience and love.

“It will take a lifetime sacrifice to take care of these children who have special needs,” the governor said as he assured both parents and teachers that the provincial government under his stewardship is always ready to help and support all programs and projects intended for SPED students.

As a show of support to the sector, the provincial chief executive disclosed that an exclusive space located in the new building for the Provincial Social Welfare and Development Office (PSWDO) near the PDRRMO will be reserved for the special sector. “Rest assured of a 100 percent support from the provincial government,” the governor added, stressing that special children need extra attention.

OIC-Schools Division Superintendent Sheila Marie A. Primicias likewise expressed gratitude to the Espino administration for the untiring support and assistance given not just for the SPED but for all the programs and activities of the entire school division.

Serving as a special day where SPED students can show their skills and talents, the whole-day event will also give the children with special needs opportunity to meet new friends, Dr. Primicias stated:“Ang araw na ito ay hindi lamang para sa kumpetisyon dahil ang araw na ito ay ginawa para mag-enjoy ang mga bata,” she noted.

Games conducted during the olympics include athletics/runs, throws and jumps which were held outdoors. On the other hand, special events that were conducted indoor or inside NRSCC gymnasium are as follows: poster-making, Zumba dance contest and vocal solo singing contest.

Participants came from five clusters notably: Cluster 1 (Infanta, Dasol, Burgos, Mabini); Cluster 2 (Agno, Anda, Bani, Bolinao); Cluster 3 (Sual, Labrador, Bugallon, Lingayen, Binmaley); Cluster 4 (Calasiao, Basista, Mapandan, Sta. Barbara, Malasiqui, Bayambang); Cluster 5 (Urbiztondo, Mangatarem, Aguilar).


/Ruby R. Bernardino (Photos by Neiva Ferrer)