The Official Website of the Province of Pangasinan

Bugallon, San Carlos City, Labrador & Bayambang win 1st match in the finals

August 9, 2019

The teams of Bugallon, San Carlos City, Labrador and Bayambang earned their first win in the finals of the 3rd Pangasinan Inter-LGU Unity Games.

The best-of-three finals started on August 9 held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC)Gymnasium.

In the basketball tournament, LGU teams Bugallon and San Carlos City subdued their nemesis – Urbiztondo and Bayambang, respectively.

Bugallon cagers thumped Urbiztondo, the last season’s champion in the Division A with a towering 14-point lead at the fourth quarter, 81-67. LGU Bugallon, who was cheered up by no less than Bugallon Mayor Priscilla Espino, also dominated the first three quarters (19-14,43-29, and 55-45).

San Carlos City hauled their first win via close match against Bayambang under Division B. Despite being in the disadvantage in the first quarter, San Carlos City rose ahead Bayambang in the succeeding quarters and finished the match at 87-80.

Meanwhile, LGU teams of Labrador and Bayambang won in their respective games against Burgos and Sta. Barbara.

In the match between Labrador and Burgos, the former concluded the match by dominating three sets out of five despite an unyielding match against the latter.

Bayambang pulled off an epic comeback against Sta Barbara. Sta. Barbara who enjoyed an early dominance in the first two sets lost the final sets to Bayambang.

Meanwhile, adjudged third placers in the basketball tourney are Sta. Barbara (Division A) and Alaminos City (Division B) while Infanta and Alaminos City secured third spot in the volleyball tourney under Division B and Division A, respectively.

The Inter-LGU unity games, one of the major sports programs of Gov. Amado I. Espino III, was launched in 2017 with an objective to develop camaraderie and promote healthy lifestyle among officials and employees of the various LGUs throughout Pangasinan.

It can be learned that Division A comprises: San Carlos City vs. Bayambang  Sta. Barbara and Basista (basketball); and Bayambang, Sta. Barbara, Mangatarem and Alaminos City (volleyball).

On the other hand, teams under Division B include: Bugallon, Urbiztondo, Alaminos City and Calasiao (basketball); and Labrador, Burgos, Aguilar and Infanta (volleyball).

/Shiella Mae C. De Guzman (Photos by Jinver Perez)