The Official Website of the Province of Pangasinan

3rd Pangasinan Inter-LGU Unity Games Update: Sta. Barbara, Urbiztondo complete list of competing teams for the finals

August 7, 2019

The teams of Sta. Barbara ang Urbiztondo seized the remaining spots for championship rounds of the 3rd Pangasinan Inter-LGU Unity Games.


LGU Sta. Barbara and LGU Urbiztondo successfully won in do-or-die matches against their nemesis – Alaminos City and LGU Calasiao, respectively, during the semifinals held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) Gymnasium on August 1.


In the volleyball tourney for women, teams of Sta. Barbara and Alaminos City clashed for the second time around following the twice-to-beat advantage of the latter.


Sta. Barbara also waylaid Alaminos City in their second match by dominating the three sets despite one loss (3-1).


As such, Sta. Barbara will play against Bayambang in the finals under Group A of the volleyball tourney while Alaminos City will battle for the third rank with Mangatarem.


It can be recalled that Bayambang along with two other teams earlier earned their seats for the championship rounds in the volleyball tourney, namely: Labrador and Burgos (Group B). On the other hand, Aguilar and Infanta will match up for the do-or-die overall third spot.


Meanwhile, in the basketball tournament, Urbiztondo earned their seat in the championship rounds after defeating Calasiao at 78-76. It can be learned that Urbiztondo earlier won their first game on July 26 against Calasiao who had a twice-to-beat advantage.


Hence, under Group B of the basketball tournament, Urbiztondo will vie for the championship round against Bugallon while Calasiao and Alaminos City with fight it out for third place.


Other teams under Group A who will advance to the championship rounds of the basketball tourney, include: San Carlos City and Bayambang while Sta. Barbara and Basista will play against each other for the overall third place.


All games can be watched live via the official Facebook page of the Province of Pangasinan.


Below is the schedule of games for the battle-for-third on August 8 and group championship finals on August 9 at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center:


A. August 8 (Battle-For-Third)




1. Basista vs. Sta Barbara (Group A) – 8:30 a.m.

2. Alaminos City vs. Calasiao (Group B) – 10:00 a.m.



1. Aguilar vs. Infanta (Group B) – 1:00 p.m.

2. Mangatarem vs. Alaminos City (Group A) – 2:30 p.m.


B. August 9 (Group Championship Finals)



1. Bugallon vs. Urbiztondo (Group B) – 8:30 a.m.

2. San Carlos City vs. Bayambang (Group A) – 10:00 a.m.




1. Labrador v. Burgos (Group B) – 1:00 p.m.

2. Bayambang vs. Sta. Barbra (Group A) – 2:30 p.m.


The Inter-LGU unity games, one of the major sports programs of Gov. Amado I. Espino III, was launched in 2017 with an objective to develop camaraderie and promote healthy lifestyle among officials and employees of the various LGUs throughout Pangasinan.


/Shiella Mae C. De Guzman (Photo by Jinver Z. Perez)